Title Registration

Instead of the method of registration of documents for the confirmation of the title of a land , Title Registration Act,No.21 of 1998 (The Act relating to the Bim Saviya programme) has been established for the registration of the absolute ownership of the land with a responsibility of the government the location of the land , including a cadastral map ( a plan) mentioned the boundaries and extent of the same land for showing the title and nature of the title under a specific identical number .

Title Registration Act,No.21 of 1998 (The Act relating to the Bim Saviya programme) has been established for the registration of absolute title of the land by indicating the title and the nature of the title under an identical number specified for the land including a cadastral map( a plan) mentioning the location, boundaries therein and the extent with the responsibility of the Government instead of document registration method .

The correlated Institutions for the implementation of this programme

  • Survey Department
    • Preparation of cadastral map for the land claimed / issuance of copies
  • Land Title Settlement Department
    • Settling of the title of the relevant land parcel
    • Carrying out investigations as per Section 55 of the Act and confirmation of post ownership
  • Registrar General’s Department
    • Registration of titles on the schedules received by the land Title Settlement Department based on the aforesaid cadastral map.
    • Registration of post transactions relating to the same land
    • Issuing of copies of extracts.

The offices which the same programme is implemented

Title registration is implemented in the following land registration offices.

  1.   Delkanda                                          
  2.   Homagama                                          
  3.   Awissawella                                        
  4.   Gampaha                                             
  5.   Meegamuwa                                        
  6.   Attanagalla                                          
  7.   Anuradhapura                                      
  8.   Kandy                                                  
  9.   Gampola                                              
  10.   Rathnapura                                          
  11.   Hambantota                                         
  12.   Tangalle                                              
  13.   Kurunegala                                          
  14.   Kuliyapitiya                                        
  15.   Monaragala                                         
  16.   Badulla
  17.   Polonnaruwa
  18.   Trincomalee
  19.   Matale
  20.   Nuwaraeliya
  21.   Kalutara
  22.   Panadura
  23.   Horana
  24.   Galle
  25.   Matara
  26.   Kegalle
  27.   Puttalam
  28.   Marawila
  29.   Kundasale
  30.   Elpitiya
  31.   Mahara

 In addition to the above offices, title registration activities in the land Registration office of Jaffna is scheduled to be commenced.

Benefits received from this method

Title is firm as the full responsibility of the government is granted.

  • The accurate information of the location of the land is confirmed by the title certificate
  • As the Survey Department is responsible for the plan, re- obtaining of copies of plan is not necessary.
  • As seeking legal advices are not necessary when selling or purchasing of a land with title certificate , the transaction is more easier.
  • Title certificate acquired more recognition than the deed
  • Land disputes ,frauds and irregularities are minimized from this method.
  • The partition act shall not apply to a land parcel which title certificate issued (Section 63 of the Title Registration Act, No.21 of 1998)

 The approximate number of nine lakhs (900,000) title certificates has been distributed among the land owners as at year 2023.

Title Insurance Fund-Compensation in title settlement/Registration

Compensation is done as per the court order from the title insurance fund established under the Title Registration Act, No.21 of 1998, under the supervision of Central Bank of Sri Lanka on the management of the Registrar general of Title.


Registrar General's Department

Denzil Kobbekaduwa Mawatha,
Sri Lanka.

+94 112 889 488 - 489